Event #46: $50,000 Poker Players' Championship

Glantz Leads, Defending Champ Ashton Near The Top

Matthew Ashton

The $50,000 Players Championship is a five-day poker marathon in which the best players in the world face off against each other playing an eight-game rotation. Matt Glantz, a two-time final tablist, leads the way after Day 1, just like in 2012 when he also stood atop the leader board heading into Day 2.

The second day of play looks to be an exciting one, as players are still able to enter this tournament up until 4:00 p.m.. We're expecting to see legends of the game like Doyle Brunson, Gus Hansen, and John Juanda enter while Vanessa Selbst, Dan Shak, Michael Glick, Phil Galfond and Sergii Baranov were already eliminated during the first day of play.

Glantz got a hold of the chip lead early on after sending Selbst to the rail in a big no-limit hold'em pot, and he managed to dominate his table with Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth, and David "ODB" Baker the rest of the night. Dylan Linde, a first-time player of the $50K, currently sits in second place followed by Richard Ashby and Shaun Deeb.

Other notable big stacks include Frenchman Alexandre Luneau, Ismael Bojang from Germany, and Britain's defending champ Matthew Ashton. One spot behind Ashton we see the only two-time winner of this tournament, Michael Mizrachi. Current WSOP Player of the Year leader George Danzer sits just a tad below the starting stack while John Racener, Mike Gorodinsky, Nick Schulman, and Phil Ivey are looking to win some pots early on to stay in contention.

Play will resume at 2:00 p.m. local time and players will play five more levels of 100 minutes each. Join us then for continuing coverage of the Event #46: $50,000 Poker Players Championship.

Тагове: Alexandre LuneauDan ShakDaniel NegreanuDavid "ODB" BakerDoyle BrunsonDylan LindeGeorge DanzerGus HansenIsmael BojangJohn JuandaJohn RacenerMatt GlantzMatthew AshtonMichael GlickMichael MizrachiMike GorodinskyNick SchulmanPhil GalfondPhil HellmuthPhil IveyRichard AshbySergii BaranovShaun DeebVanessa Selbst