2021 World Series of Poker Europe
Event #2: €1,100 No-Limit Hold'em

The WSOP Player of the Year Race

[user153638] • Ниво 5: 100-200, 0 ante

The Player of the Year race is a heated affair here in Cannes. We'll let the WSOP Media Guide tell the story of the WSOP POY and just why it's a big deal here in France:

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) instituted a Player of the Year system in 2004, once Harrah’s (now Caesars) took over the tournament.

The system awards points based on finish for all open bracelet events. Anyone who cashes in a WSOP gold bracelet event is awarded points. And the player with the most overall points is the winner of the WSOP Player of the Year. Bluff Magazine created and powers the formula used to determine the WSOP POY.

Adding the WSOP Player of the Year to your resume is one of the highest honors a poker player can achieve.

Typically, the individual who wins this award has multiple in-the-money finishes and at least a WSOP gold bracelet among those cashes. In fact, no player has won the award without at least capturing a WSOP gold bracelet.

The WSOP Player of the Year includes the seven gold bracelets awarded at WSOP Europe. This year’s winner has 65 events to compete in to qualify for the WSOP Player of the Year: 58 open events at the WSOP, and the seven up for grabs in Cannes, France at WSOPE.

Technically, Phil Ivey, with five final table appearances and 568.70 points, leads the 2012 WSOP Player of the Year standings. However, Greg Merson, who is amongst the finalists of the WSOP Main Event, has 481.13 points, plus he will earn an additional 100-500 points depending on where he finishes in Las Vegas. So Merson, if he doesn’t cash in any events at WSOP Europe and finishes ninth in the Main Event, will have 581.13 points. In a best case scenario, he will have 981.13 points for winning the WSOP Main Event.

The current WSOP Player of the Year standings can be found here.

Last year, it took until the Final Table of the WSOP Main Event to determine the winner. Ben Lamb beat out Phil Hellmuth for the crown.

2012 WSOP Player of the Year Standings Prior to WSOPE

1Phil Ivey568.70
2John Monnette524.25
3Antonio Esfandiari513.10
4David “ODB” Baker508.38
5Phil Hellmuth500.70
6Michael Mizrachi486.20
7Gregory Merson481.13
8Vanessa Selbst463.17
9Timothy Adams410.78
10Andy Frankenberger406.66